Council Board

The Blue Grass Council is governed by an Executive Board, which establishes the council program, determines policy within the context of the BSA’s rules, and provides short-term and long-term direction for the council. The board meets 5-6 times per year to review the council’s status and make decisions so that the council can continue to support the Scouting program for youth.

Members of the council board are chosen by a nominating committee for a one-year term, which may be renewed at the nominating committee’s discretion. During that time, they commit to attending board meetings, supporting the council’s fundraising efforts, and completing other tasks to enable the council to serve more youth. Certain board members are selected by the nominating committee to serve as the Council President or a Vice President; these officers (and sometimes other board members as needed) compose the Executive Committee. The executive committee meets monthly and provides higher-level guidance for the council. Finally, the council president, Scout Executive, and council commissioner form the council Key 3, the Blue Grass Council’s highest level of direction.

Council Key 3

  • Dr. William Greisner, President
  • James “Chip” Armishaw, Scout Executive
  • Bill Beach, Council Commissioner

Executive Committee

  • Alex Waldrop, Immediate Past President
  • Buzz Carmichael, Vice President of Endowment
  • Tim Brown, Vice President of Alumni Relations
  • Anthony Kenney, Vice President of Program
  • Dan Miller, Past Council President
  • Allen Norvell, Council Treasurer
  • Ernie Sammons, Vice President of Administration
  • Alan Watts, Vice President of Properties

Executive Board

  • Roger Baird
  • Phil Blankenship
  • Greg Chase
  • Fran Crowley
  • Mikey D. (Council Venturing President – Youth)
  • Whitney Dunlap, III
  • John Eggum
  • Kyle G. ( Order of Arrow Lodge Chief)
  • Major General Charles Gorton
  • Steven Goddard
  • David Howard
  • David Jones
  • Jeff Lagrew
  • Larry Lowe
  • David Madison
  • Sam Mars
  • David Moss
  • Duane Norris (Service Area One Chairperson)
  • Mike Shaffer (Order of Arrow Lodge Adviser)
  • Kirby Smith
  • Ken Sturgill
  • Claudette Watts